Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’m not one to pass up an opportunity for eating and drinking, but a few weeks ago I nearly did.

I had plans to meet my friends for brunch on Saturday but I was eager to work on my website (more about this in future posts!). I was very close to staying at home to do the latter, but I didn’t want to miss out on seeing my friends. In the end I decided to go and  met them for brunch at Barbecoa (which really impressed me with their huevos rancheros). My friend Sandy, who works at Google, then offered to help me brainstorm on my website.

Huevos Rancheros at Barbecoa

Huevos Rancheros at Barbecoa

We sat down at a great little coffee shop, with a view of St. Paul’s Cathedral, and brainstormed away! Sandy was super helpful, asking me lots of questions and jotting down my ideas. After about an hour of idea sharing, I was able to articulate my thoughts into one clear theme, whereas before I couldn’t seem to bring together all my ideas.

Brainstorming near St Pauls

Brainstorming at Artigiano

On Sunday I was eager to put my grand idea on the website but somehow I ended up at drinks with a MBA buddy and several of his friends. One of his friends runs her own PR and Marketing firm. I started chatting with her, telling her about my website idea. She then gave me some good advice on creating my own personal brand, and even offered to help me once the site is up and running. Drinks actually turned out be a great networking opportunity!

In short, two weekends ago I nearly passed up TWO social gatherings. Thank goodness I didn’t and opted instead to eat and drink with friends 🙂

Bottom line: Eating and drinking can lead to good things.

P.S. My website is now in beta mode! If you want to be part of the focus group, let me know in the comments section. I’d be delighted to get your feedback on it!